Requirements or applicable methods and processes for development and manufacturing of safety-related electrical/electronic systems in automotives are defined in the standard ISO 26262.

Objective of the ISO 26262 is to assure the functional safety of a system with electrical/electronical components in a motor vehicle. Thus risk reduction as well as a high safety standard of the motor vehicle can be achieved.

ISO 26262 requires from a certain safety level on that a design and organizationally independent institute, organization or other (like for example an external Testing Institute) is called upon and consulted to give proof of the safety or functional safety of the product.

The application of this standard is not mandatory. But by now this standard has been established as state-of-the-art within the automotive industry. More and more – especially international – automotive manufacturers require from their component suppliers to apply the ISO 26262 within their projects.

Our Services

  • Product testing
  • Expert services
  • Qualification of SW Tools
  • Certification of Functional Safety Management Systems of automotive manufacturer or component supplier
  • Training "Automotive - System Design acc. to ISO 26262

Relevant Standards

In the past years several standards and guidelines have been established in the automotive industry.

The most important and relevant standards regarding Functional Safety are the IEC 61508 and the ISO 26262. IEC 61508 is a basic standard. Due to the fact that the determination of the safety integrity level (SIL) acc. to IEC 61508 is not applicable within the automotive industry, the ISO 26262 has been worked out. Thus a specific and new standard has been created for applications within automotive industry.

The ISO 26262 contains the new automotive safety integrity levels (ASIL) from A to D. ASIL A defines the minimum and ASIL D the maximum achievable safety target. The structure of this standards is in most parts consistent to the IEC 61508. ISO 26262 is devided into 10 parts, the order of these parts is acc. to the safety life cycles.

1.    Vocabulary
2.    Management of Functional Safety
3.    Concept Phase
4.    Product Development: System level
5.    Product Development: Hardware level
6.    Product Development: Software level
7.    Production, operation and decommissioning
8.    Supporting processes
9.    ASIL- and safety oriented analysis
10.    Guideline (only informativ)


If you want more information, please contact us: